Jack Lemmon is dead

Jack Lemmon is dead
That makes me blue
Jack Lemmon was fun
And dramatic too

His face- facile
His voice sublime
Even when it rasped
From time to time

I remember “The apartment.”
I remember it well
The story made me nervous
Just nervous as hell

For Jack was the good guy
Who was being given a ride
I woulda done anything
To be by his side

And when Jack acted with
His good buddy Matthau
Then the audience was in heaven
I was, I know, and so were you

Jack Lemmon is dead
And that makes me sad
His antics and acting
Were never bad
7/12/01

Leave a Reply

