Please Read This Slowly

Please read this slowly
As it was written
Sound each word carefully
As though you’re smitten

I love words
Their feel their sound
Read them slowly
Make each vowel round

A written letter
Sent via the mail
Is so very satisfying
It never fails

Never fails to please me
With each word I read
To ever written thought
I will pay heed

It’s a pleasure to see
The handwriting there in
Even if difficult to decipher
It can make me grin

For some dear friend
Has spent a dime
To send a real letter
Written in real time
11/8/99

Leave a Reply

