3 Is Half of 8

NPR continues to amaze me
Just last week I learned about three
Did you know or do you know
That 3 is half of 8 let me explain how

If you write 3
And then add the other half
What you have is now
Isn’t that a laugh

And then I remembered
From days long ago
That 1 added to 3
Is more than you know

For 1 added to 3
Can be thirteen or four
But grammatically speaking

For if you cuddle the 1
Snug against 3
Why now what you have is the letter B

To go one step further
If you place them just right
You will get B then add 1+3
Here is B4 in sight
11/17/98

Life just gives me a twist

I enter contests
I do not win
I flirt a lot
But care little for men

I go on diets
I get not thin
When others cry
I tend to grin

Oh woe is me!! Woe I say

I often feel very warm
Yet others shiver
When there is
A storm

There is no way to explain all of this
It seems that life
Just gives me a twist

Oh woe is me!! Woe I say

I shall not worry
Nor cry nor hide
I’ll just go forward
Or go beside

For I love life
Whate’er it brings
And troubles like joys
Just make me sing

Now there are stories that I’d like to tell

Now there are stories that
I’d like to tell
But would you want to hear them?
It’s not clear as a bell

There are stories of youth
When everything was new
There are stories of aging
I wish were untrue

There are stories of valor
And tales of woe
Stories of adventures
The best that I know

There are stories of loves
And breakups and tears
There are stories that continue

What are your stories?
Can you share them with me?
I would like to hear them
Yessiree

Why Do People Congregate in Herds

Often I have asked
And seldom have I heard
Just why oh why I mean
Do people congregate in herds?

Is it for friendship sake?
Is it protection that they seek?
Does anyone know for sure?
If they do will they speak?

Many times I have been
Alone here and there
Yet I’ve ne‘er felt lonely
Nor been troubled by despair

Other times I tell you
This is such a mystery here
I am so glad to see people
I could just stand up and cheer

Perhaps people get together that is about the only thing to do
If there are more than one of you
Maybe just one of far to few

Is it any wonder
That we get perplexed every day
There are people in and out
Simply getting in our way

And if they aren’t there
We fret around we do
Asking of ourselves and each other
Please introduce me to a few

Ah, the human spirit
Thrives on this very thing
Even in this heat it thrives
But is much harder now to sing