I have but one clock

I have but one clock- in all of my home
Today it just stopped dead
I said to myself, I repeated it too
“What shall I do?” I said

“Call the operator, girl” I said to myself
And I proceeded to do just that
When I called her, I was flatly told
“There is a charge, don’t you know?”
And that was the end of that.

Who needs to know what time it is
Who needs to know, I ask
So I just went about my business in a timeless way
Simply just got on with my tasks.
12/01/99

Leave a Reply

