I was reading my paper

I was reading my paper
On 12/27/99
There wasn’t too much bad news
So I was feeling fine

Until that is you understand
A story I found there
Filled me with wonder
Or maybe it was despair

“ A person” the paper said
In this 12/27/99 edition
‘Has been found dead”
But the story filled me with suspicion

For the papers date- remember?
Was 12/27/99
But the date of the death, I read
Was ahead of us in time

This person, I was told
The one ho was found dead
Was found on 12/30/99
That was the day it said

Three days before the occurrence?
A warning? Might this have been?
If I were the one they were discussing
I would’ve left town- right then
12/28/99

Leave a Reply

