Smoke

No smoke on the mountain
On Christmas day
Smoke in my cellar
Ugly and grey

Called 911
“Help”, I did cry
“There is smoke in my cellar”
“All over inside”

“Leave the house lady
get out now”
“I’m going, I’m going!
Holy cow”

Faster than a flash
Greenport rescue was here
I greeted them warmly
With a thanks and a cheer

And they discovered
No danger was lurking
It was just my hot water heater
Was not quite working

So, I called Mr. Kline
Over at Merle oil
He hurried on over
Before it could boil

Greenport rescue
And Mr. Kline too
Are the very best there is
I mean that true
12/28/98

Leave a Reply

