Lordy Lordy Lizzie Jane

Lordy Lordy
Lizzie Jane
I saw a building
It gave me pain

My eyes were assaulted
I had to blink
The yell of it blinded me
I could not think

But when the pain had ebbed away
I recalled the furor of another day
When around the corner and up the street
Another building owner had to retreat

For when they painted
Their shop too bright
Ugly protests arose
Just right over night

Are there rules for Warren Street?
That are much more lax
Than rules for Seventh Street
Please, give me the facts.
11/15/99

Leave a Reply

