A New Dawn Poem

The twilight sky was denim
Shrimp pink shirts upon the clouds
The Catskills rise in dusky violet
These sights make me so proud

Proud that I live here
Here in this great place
Where foals romp in the pastures
Fields flood with Queen Anne’s Lace

The only thing as sweet
As twilight in my town
Is when dawn rollicks in
Dressed in her fire red gown

The canines bark “Good Morning”
The felines straggle home
A robin and a chickadee
Carole out a new dawn poem

My spirit whispers to me
Tells me “This is the best”
And I agree with all my heart
Little else can meet this test.

Leave a Reply

