It Pays To Be Honest With Your Agent, Sir

Here is a story

I heard tell at work

Sometimes people take us

For real down home jerks.

“No, no accidents for me”

Said one customer today

As I looked at his history

I said, “No way!”

“Just once I backed up,

Hit someone on the street.”

“Uh huh,” I replied

As he stared at his feet.

“And once upon a time

I crashed into the garage door

“Oh, my!” I replied

As I waited for more.

“But, accidents, no,

Can’t say that I have any”

I groaned to myself,

“What had those 2 been, you ninny”

“And these tickets, here on the motor vehicle report?”

I showed the record, and

Waited for the retort.

“Well, good gracious alive!”

“Is that when they occurred?”

I stare at him now

Can he be this absurd?

“It pays to be honest

With your agent, sir.

For the records are here,

Of that you can be sure.”

“Well, all these things

That are in black & white here

Were caused by the other driver

Let me tell you dear.”

4/21/98

Leave a Reply

