The Story of My Birth As Revealed by Connie Coddington

For seventeen years my parents were childless
No little feet pitter-patted their floor
But then once, while seeing
“Gone with the Wind”
My Mom grew uncomfortable, for sure.

They lived 40 miles from the movies
You must understand this important fact
And this was a rare treat
For those who lived out in the back.

So when my Mom grew decidedly ill
My Dad rushed her to the doc
“Appendicitis” claimed he, “hurry to the hospital, please”
So off they careened as fast as they could rock.

And as Daddy waited
Pacing restlessly, worrying about her
The Doc yelled to him, “Sorry, Jim,
No appendicitis–it’s a baby–
this time I am really sure.”

After the birthing was over
And Mom and I lay serene
My Dad sped thru the hallways
He was flying, I mean.

“Where is that so and so
“who made such a stupid mistake!
“Thinking our baby was appendicitis!
“I gotta kill him, for goodness sake!”

All this happened in Colorado
Out where the West begun
My Daddy took with him his six-shooter
My Dad took his gun.

He did not find the Doc
And he settled down after a while
At least, this is the story told
’cause, this was my Dad’s style.

Leave a Reply

