How Does One Survive

How does one survive
In the land of six month nights
If it is gray-2 days or 3
I feel it is a blight.
Perhaps, I’m solar powered
I am my best in bright sunshine
But when it gets gray and grayer
I begin to pine.
How do they do it
In the land of the midnight sun?
Is it all imagination
Is this how they have fun?
Perhaps, it is just attitude
There in the latitude and longitude
It mystifies me greatly
I do not mean to be rude
But it is the sunshine I like
Longer days and shorter nights
When the warm sun shines on us
I feel perfectly all right.

March 1999

Leave a Reply

